SAY echo?

Old MUME discussions.

Moderator: Builders

Forum rules
The posts in this forum should be related to MUME.

SAY echo?

Postby Guladas on Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:51 am

Hi there,

I'm new to MUME and still figuring out how things work. Seems really neat so far, and I enjoy that it's heavily roleplay-oriented. One thing throwing me off is having some commands echoing simply 'Ok.' For instance, if I SAY something, all I get is 'Ok.' I would expect to get something like, 'You say, "Hullo there."' Am I doing it wrong, or is there an option to echo my own SAY messages?
Guladas
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:47 am

Re: SAY echo?

Postby Oisín on Wed Nov 24, 2010 9:52 am

No such option, to my knowledge. MUME is working as designed there.
Oisín
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:26 pm
Location: Leipzig

Re: SAY echo?

Postby science on Sat Nov 27, 2010 4:08 am

That would be awesome though - add it as an idea suggestion? :) And then wait a year or so :P But sometimes ideas do still get implemented.
science
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:00 pm

Re: SAY echo?

Postby Oisín on Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:10 am

It's not hard to make your own "echoing say", if you use a client.
In powwow, for instance, it would be somthing like

#alias newsay={#print You say $0;say $0}
Oisín
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:26 pm
Location: Leipzig

Re: SAY echo?

Postby Humi on Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:34 am

There is a fair good reason for adding an echo to say, which I'd like to point out:

As it stands, occasionally MUME can be laggy. Whether that's machine lag or link lag is mostly beside the point. The problem, however, is that there are a fair number of commands which, instead of returning "intelligent" feeback, such as say, simply return "Ok." Especially when the game's response time is over 500ms or so, it can be difficult to determine which of a number of commands have just completed when the only output they return is "Ok."

As such, I'd offer up the statement that it would greatly benefit MUME's playability and interactivity if a complete check of all commands was performed to ensure that they all returned the most practical non-ambiguous output. The say and related communication commands would be a fantastic place to start with this, and I can see no drawbacks aside from a very small time commitment from a developer only moderately skilled in C, especially as the commands themselves are already in place and merely require some output creation and formatting.

Basically I can see no downsides to such a project, while it would offer some tangible improvements to the game, especially as far as new players are concerned.
Humi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:25 am

Re: SAY echo?

Postby Andróg on Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:06 am

I suggest posting this on the Idea board in the game itself. This shouldn't be too hard to code, I think (although I'm no expert).
Andróg
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:10 pm


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron